potatoes with black in the middle

lala land

Sprout
Reaction score
for the first time ever, I had a problem with potatoes last year. I grow about 4 varieties, and I've been replanting from potatoes saved from seed for 3 years in this garden. I grow fingerlings, russet, yukon gold, kanabec, and a variety of purple, plus whatever sprouting potatoes family give me.

Last year, I had small black or darkened centers in about 1/4 of the potatoes, mostly in the whites. Not worms, as there was no worm trail. The reds had red stippling in the center.

It was an extraordinarily dry and cool summer. I rotate crops, and grow some potatoes under hay, and some under dirt. I have a big family harvest day, so have no idea of whether the problem potatoes came from one patch or another as I also had kids up helping to plant last spring and totally lost track of what was what.

Any ideas what this was about? would like to avoid it this year!

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I have seen dark spots in the center of the potato with cracks running through in a star shape. Where there cracks in some of them? Usually that is a sign of a lack of water?

Just dark areas... I'm not so sure. I hope someone may come in with a better answer.

old fashioned

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I'm not an expert, but have heard it may be some type of blight or disease. Hopefully someone better in the know will come thru with a better answer.

By the way..... :welcome

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
I don't know what would cause that. I found this site that talks about all kinds of potato diseases and did not find what you described. You might look through it to see if the descriptions match what you saw. Since the symptoms don't seem to match the diseases, I'd guess it had something to do with the cool wet growing season or maybe harvesting them too young when they are really full of water instead of some disease, but that is purely a guess? They did not maybe freeze, did they?