A Herb's Second Summer . . . Now What?

Whitewater

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
Last summer in my small but sunny herb garden (and it is small, it's 3'x6'!) I planted herbs and and some of them didn't do so well but a few thrived.

I know that winter will have killed the tarragon and the lavender, but I still have the old (now dead *looking*) dill and sage in my herb garden.

The dill and sage both grew like gangbusters last year, but I don't know if they'll come back. If they do, what do I do about the dead bits? Just ignore them? Trim the leaves off? Cut it down to the ground?

Right now it looks a bit like Halloween, with dead but still recognizable dill and sage plants. The sage is shriveled but still standing, and the dill got its top knocked off by some careless dogs, but it's still upright also.

Should I just wait to see if they'll grow back this summer? Is there anything I should do with/to the old plants?

(Yes, I'm new at this)

Whitewater

OaklandCityFarmer

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I've never been able to grow Tarragon successfully. I actually can't stand it. :sick

I would recommend cutting the sage back and this should come back assuming there's not too much damage to the plant from frost. Although this helps nothing with your current situation, covering with a thick mulch will probably help the sage survive a little better through the winter.

I recommend just replanting the dill. Grows really fast and I usually just pull them each year anyway.

Good luck

Carlos

Catalina

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Hey there - Dill and Sage aren't usually winter hardy in MN. I plant my sage, rosemary and bay in pots and bring them inside for the winter.
I'll bet the dill re-seeded itself - they throw out a TON of seeds!

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
I'm on a different growing area than you so you should trust Catalina more than me on this.