Attack of the Caterpillars

SeedOfMemory

Leafing Out
Reaction score
So I am new to gardening but I have had my pepper plants from seedlings. My habanero already has 13 fruit on it and I baby that plant. My ghost pepper and my sweet banana have yet to produce fruit. Anyway, none of that is the problem. Every morning I visit my habanero and check the fruit. I've never seen a problem until now. I noticed a giant hole in one of my peppers and a smaller hole in another. I snipped the big one off and cut it open to find a medium common striped garden caterpillar. I have had issues with these on my back patio on my sunflowers. Not in my front yard. They're destroying my baby I've raised from a seedling. I bought sevin dust. I'm not sure if it will work. Any help or tips would be appreciated.
20180701_084610.jpg
20180701_073227.jpg

Attachments

• 20180701_073240.jpg
    20180701_073240.jpg
    197.8 KB · Views: 380
  • 20180701_084520.jpg
    20180701_084520.jpg
    93.6 KB · Views: 316

Collector

Garden Master
Reaction score
I have ok luck with seven dust, sprinkle some on and some all around the plants. We use straw for mulch I usually just sprinkle the dust in the mulch around the plants, not sure if it helps or not but I think it does and I don’t have to put it on the plant. You are growing some hot peppers, do you eat them whole or use them to season food?

catjac1975

Garden Master
Reaction score