Buying plants over net

seedcorn

Garden Master
Reaction score
Son asked me about buying plants over net. He is looking at the butterfly garden set from Direct Gardening. Anyone have experience with Them? I know it is nursery over runs-I’m ok with that. Also understand they are sending starts, not plants. Starts will take 1-2 years to even approach what he thinks. With economy, 2 young kids, $$ is tight. He’s too impatient to wait for me to bring starts down. Thoughts?

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
Have you checked to see that the plants in that set are OK for his area? Just a thought.

I have no experience with that company. I've ordered tomato and pepper live plants and had them shipped in. They generally arrive in good shape. The one time the tomatoes looked rough they came back fine but they did look rough on arrival.

You are talking perennials, I've ordered from Stark Bros and other places, I'm sure you have too. Those are usually bare root and usually arrive in good shape. I suspect these will be potted plants, not bare root, so more like the tomatoes and peppers.

If they are packaged properly and they don't get hung up or damaged in shipping they should be OK from that aspect. Direct Gardening controls the packaging aspect of that, not the shipping. Have you checked the reviews and do you see any that you believe?

Jared712

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
If he understands its starts and is willing to wait it might be worthwhile.

What about a butterfly seed mix? Might be more cost friendly and give a similar result.

seedcorn

Garden Master
Reaction score
Not sure what he understands. Bull headed like his mother. Doesn’t want annuals. Plant once, there forever.....

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Dave's Garden says that it's owned by Burgess:

Burgess Seed
  • Burgess Seed
  • Direct Gardening
  • Dutch Gardens
  • Farmer Seed and Nursery
  • Four Seasons Nursery
  • Honeycreek Nurseries
  • House of Wesley