Canning tomatoes for first time...

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
Okay, this is my first year canning. So far so good! I made a few different relishes and lots of jelly. Now for the tomatoes- Any advice for a newbie? I am sticking to recipes from the Ball book. Any tips? The tomatoes are getting ripe (at long last), so it is almost time. I think I remember someone saying they froze tomatoes whole, until they had enough to can?? Thanks for your help!

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Yup, the skins come off real easy if you freeze them first; however they become a pain in the patootie to seed, so if you might want to have a food mill or something like that, to run the sauce through to seive out the seeds. If you don't mind seeds, then of course this is not an issue at all :)

They are probably a little more versatile for cooking when canned as chunks or whole tomatoes; but you can get more tomatoes into fewer cans by making sauce.

I'd suggest doing a larger number of modest-size batches, rather than one or two giant 14-quart-jar binges, so that you can try different methods and see how you like the processes and results, so you can choose your favorite(s) to concentrate on next year.

Good luck, have fun,

Pat, who canned her last 2008 tomatoes about a month ago, having forgotten them in the freezer til then :p

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
Thanks, Pat! I think I will try both chunks and sauce. Sometimes I really want the convenience of having something ready to go- I am hoping not to have to buy any tomato sauce products for the winter... we'll see how this goes! I had no idea you could freeze them for that long! I feel better all ready!

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score