Fig Trees

OaklandCityFarmer

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
So I've propagated some fig tree cuttings from a giant tree on our property in Southern California and they finally have taken root and are growing nicely.

How many years are they going to take to actually produce fruit? The tree in So Cal has been there forever and has always given giant fist sized fruits.

Also, anyone know any tricks or tips that I could use to help these little guys?

Any help is always appreciated.

DrakeMaiden

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I'm new to figs, so I don't know how much help I can offer. I hear they take 4-5 years to produce fruit. They prefer a warm, sunny spot and moist, well-draining soil. I can't decide if I'm going to keep mine in a pot or set it in the ground and then try to protect it during the winter (here in WA state). But I do know that I'm going to try to keep it on the south or south-east side of our house, where it will get reflected heat.

Southern Gardener

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I dug up five shoots (roots intact) from my grandmothers fig tree last summer and planted them in one pot - I babied them all winter and then planted them in the ground on the south side of my property and they are doing fantastic!

This fig tree was huge when I was growing up and it produced large, but not fist size fruit. I couldn't tell you what kind it is but it does survive our mild winters.

I'm hoping I'll have some fruit in the fall.

OaklandCityFarmer

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Thank you both for your tips. :D

We'll do the best we can I'm sure. How well do they withstand winds? The multi-story apartment building behind us creates a horrible back wind and that area is the only place I can think of putting the little tree. :/ Of course nothing can ever be convenient.

DrakeMaiden

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score