Heads-up @Baymule, I'm studying your pig threads

canesisters

Garden Master
Reaction score
I just saw an ad on my cow forum for 3 FREE AGH about 2-3hrs from me.
I'm not set up for pigs right now but DO intend to add them to the farm at some point and have always planned for it to be AGH. So, at that price, I can't hardly not consider moving that time line WAY up.
I've PMed for more info - but, in the mean time I'm scouring threads to get real, hands-on insights and info from folks who have raised pigs recently.
I might be asking a bunch of questions real soon about your pig adventures :D

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
Cane, I have never raised pigs on my own but every spring Dad would get one or two and we'd butcher in the fall. Depending on how much you do yourself butchering can be a lot of work crowded into a short time period or you can get someone else to clean and package it for you. Dad would haul the carcass off and we'd get a lot of raw meat back later, sometimes with some of it already turned into sausage, sometimes we'd grind our own. After he quit farming full time and got a regular job we did less on our own. I have clear memories if rendering the fat into lard. We'd get several gallons of lard which Mom would use for her cooking. Things fried in lard are just that much better and oh, those biscuits she'd make. Occasionally Dad would salt cure a ham but most of the meat was wrapped and put in the freezer. How big is your freezer?