Help Identifying Plant

Nifty

Garden Addicted
Administrator
Reaction score
We started out with one of these and it broke at the base. We put them in water and they started to propagate very easily. We've now got a bunch in pots and planted all over our yard.

They grow really easily and propagate very well. My only complaint is that the stalks (trunks?) aren't very strong and the plants can snap in two relatively easily.

Here's a pic. If nobody has any clues based on this pic I can take some more.

Thanks!!!

(the ones on the left are some that I just transplanted and were too tighly packed into a smaller container and were struggling. The one on the right is from a hacked off piece that was out in the sun for about a year and then I noticed it was sprouting so I put it in a pot:

2_plants.jpg

simple life

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I am not an expert by any means, but those look exactly like my spanish daggers. I have no idea what the formal name for those are.
When I moved in 15 years ago they were all over an area in the front yard, I asked a neighbor and he told me that they were called spanish daggers.
They multiply like crazy and grow up through all my new shubs, the lawn etc.
I dig them out with a shovel since these aren't going to just pull right up.
They grow VERY deep.
If you let them grow they will get a very tall stalk in the middle with a white flower.
The problem is they multiply so fast that they grow up righ through each other and on top of each other and then they don't flower.
They have to be constantly thinned in order for them to flower.
They can be pretty if you have the space for them and keep them thinned.
I don't let them get that far, I can't afford too.
I tried once and they were all over my front lawn.
I spent an hour digging some up the other day.
Like I said if you can keep them somewhere you don't mind spreading, and keep on top of thinning them, you might like having them.
There flower stalks get to be 5 feet tall sometimes.