HI new member

IrishRose

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Well this is my first time on any garden site. I started to grow some of our own veg in our back garden last year which was pretty pleasing but took the decision to do this not just because of the growing cost in shops but also because of my health issues. Surprised to say growing our own veg without pesticides was rewarding and started to fell better myself, now my husband and kids have actually started to take a big interest to and a pleasing help. Unfortunately this year due to continues rain throughout the start of this year we are finding alot have started late or not at all.

Smart Red

Garden Master
Reaction score
Welcome, @IrishRose! I'm guessing you are South of the Mason-Dixon line with your reference to "continues to rain". I'm happy to make your acquaintance here on the best garden group, hands down.

It is a good thing to start on the small side with a garden while your learn from your mistakes and build upon your successes. Smart girl!

Let us know approximately where you are gardening -- state and zone are good -- and a bit about any special challenges so others knowledgable about your conditions can help.

I look forward to photos of your veggies, your garden helpers and just photo in general. We LOVE Pictures here!

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Oh my, IrishRose!

That's a lovely, cool setting for your avatar.

You probably realize that a great many of the immigrants to the US were from Ireland. I have just been searching for my own Irish ancestors ... I found them all the way back to 1784, on American soil ... probably trying to grow roses :).

Welcome to TEG!

Steve

so lucky

Garden Master
Reaction score
Hi there, Irishrose! I don't think we have had a member from Ireland before, except Sumi, who is a staff member.