Hi

detali

Sprout
Reaction score
Hi I'm new to this gardening forum although not new to gardening.

My present gardening location is presenting a new challenge to me. Supposedly I'm in zone 8. Arizona.

That should be very nice for gardening, but the micro-climate in this valley between the two mountain ranges gives me much lower temperatures in the winter time, down to 15, and much higher temperature in the summer time, 110.

I'm having to learn how to garden around that.

Greensage45

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Hi detali,

I am nearby, I live in Las Cruces, NM. I am listed as zone 8a. We usually find ourselves at our lowest around 15 as well, and of course our highs are nearly that ...but thankfully not quite that high.

I can offer some pointers. First off tell us where you were gardening prior to Arizona. It might help in your approach.

As soon as Fall approaches we begin to have cooler evenings, and our normal warm days; this causes what they call "Indian Summers", which is a sort of second Spring. I usually tell folks that we have two Springs.

In the desert SW you need to cast out your annual seeds in the flower beds around Octoberish, September wouldn't be too early, but November could be too late. It is an iffy, but ideally you want to sprout your spring seedlings in the Fall and let them 'hold out' over the winter months as leafy mounds of growth. Sometimes the greens get bitten really bad on the first and second freeze, but usually the plant rebounds with no problem. What happens is when the real Spring finally arrives, all of your annuals have already established root and plant and so those first blooms are bigger and brighter than anything you can imagine. I am always amazed.

If you were to wait for Spring to start your annuals, the temps jump up too fast for the little plants and they soon fizzle out of existence, or they bloom tiny and deformed.