Honeycrisp Apple Cuttings?

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Anyone have honeycrisp apple trees that is willing to sell me some cuttings for grafting?

Since I do not have room for another tree I figure this might be a way for me to grow my own honeycrisps.

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Wish I could help, those sounds fantastic! We only have Lodi and Red Johnathon.

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I've never done grafting before so I think I will practice on the trees I have until I can find some scions. I would love to freak out hubby by having apples pop up on the pear tree :D

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
wifezilla said:
I've never done grafting before so I think I will practice on the trees I have until I can find some scions. I would love to freak out hubby by having apples pop up on the pear tree :D
I've never though about inter mingling species of tree/fruit. I've seen many grafted trees and how-to's for certain ones like apple on apple and pear on pear.

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Yeah, you can mix em! Neat huh? From what I found you can graft cherry and plum or pear and apple, but I don't know if you can graft cherry to apple. THAT would be cool :D

I also have a crab apple tree. Might have to see if I can get edible apples on to the ornamental crab apple too.

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Got an answer in the grafting...
"The key to success in such wild grafting is to use scion wood and rootstock of the same type of tree. For instance, graft apple (malus) to apple or crabapplethey're all apples. Likewise, you can use "wild" pears as rootstock (seedling hardy pears) and graft domestic cultivars onto it. Or you can graft stone fruit to stone fruitplums, cherries, and peaches are interchangeable. But you can't graft a cherry onto an apple, a pear onto an apple, or a cherry onto an apple or pear."

http://www.backwoodshome.com/articles2/clay121.html

Northernrose

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score