Johnafree Apple Trees

ducks4you

Garden Master
Reaction score
East Central IL, Was Zone 6, Now...maybe Zone 5
I bought 2 Johnafree Apple trees and they were delivered earlier this week. My old apple tree needs to be cut down, and it developed blight. They only last so long. The other original apple tree, a Golden Delicious belongs to the horses and I have been pruning it down for a few years. I think it will survive. I lost a Johnathan Apple last year, but it was developing blight and had very few fruits. I am hopeful for these two. They were developed just up the road from me, at the University of IL Ag Dept, as disease resistant.
https://www.starkbros.com/products/fruit-trees/apple-trees/jonafree-apple?utm_source=Shipment+Confirmation+Notification&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=2019-03-25&utm_content=Product+Image&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=ursa Consumer Ship Confirm&utm_content=ursa Consumer Ship Confirm+ID_7de80b04-f3da-4ee5-8098-c5d7d7ebe28a&utm_source=campaign monitor&utm_term=Jonafree Apple Semi-Dwarf Supreme
I figure that they can handle the weather in my back yard!
I read all of the instructions a few days ago. They said to NOT put them into a bucket of water bc the roots would rot. So...I got digging yesterday afternoon and they REread the instructions which said to soak in a bucket of water for 4-6 hours, but not MORE than 24 hours.