My very first vegetable garden. HELP!

Herechickchick

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Hi all, I am going to plant my very first garden this spring. I have not been to the library to get any reference books yet so I thought I would ask you all for some guidence first. I am in zone 7 Memphis, Tn. I would like to start with carrots, green beans, beets, turnips and tomatoes. I am also going to plant a patio blueberry bush and a Montmorency cherry tree. My questions are:
When is the best time to plant (I will be starting from seed indoors except the tomatoes)?
Can any of the vegetables be planted in containers? I have a small space.

I am thinking of purchasing this mini greenhouse . What do you all think of it, good idea or waste of money?

Any and all advise will be greatly apperciated. I am a complete novice!

Thanks

Adam

jc12551

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I grow my carrots and tomatoes in containers. Beets and turnips would be too big (couldn't get enough in a container) I think. Green beans I don't know about. I can buy those around here for $1 a gallon freezer bag so I don't grow them. Carrots should not be started in a sep. container and then transplanted, you get crooked and deformed carrots.

When is your last frost date? According to my The Old Farmer's Almanac Southern Edition you have 228 growing days and Last frost is Mar. 23. This is about the same as mine. Read the packs, they will tell you how many weeks to start before the first frost/when to direct sow.

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Herechickchick said:
(I will be starting from seed indoors except the tomatoes)?
Unless there is some particular other reason, like you're getting tomatoes from a relative, why not start them from seed too? They are plenty easy and forgiving. As others have said, don't start the carrots indoors though, it won't work right.

I am thinking of purchasing this mini greenhouse . What do you all think of it, good idea or waste of money?