Need serious sciencey help growing shrub/tree

Cassandra

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
As part of a project, I got the USDA to send me some seeds for two plants that grow wild where I live. I would rather have gotten transplants or bareroot bushes or something, but all they could send me was seeds.

The thing is, in the past 10 or 15 years, the population of these plants has gotten down to almost nothing. I look for them all over the place and contact the local extension and all of that and I can never find them. I told the USDA people (a horticulturist was who I exchanged emails with) that I was interesting in growing some and how I would love to help ... I don't know... recreate the population of these. This USDA program is only for real scientists, i think, but I was clear with them that I'm just a novice gardener and they sent me some seeds anyway. I mean, what did they have to lose, right? LOL

One of the bushes is a wild huckleberry bush. I can't remember what the other one is off hand. I ordered 4 different things and they only sent me two today. I'll have to go look up the scientific name to remind myself which one it was.

But, anyway, I know it is not a simple matter to get a fruiting shrub to grow from seeds. I have no idea where to begin. I don't know what to feed it or what kind of container to plant it in.

I would like to give the poor thing an honest chance to make it if I could.

Can anyone help?

Cassandra

Rosalind

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score