Strawberry Plants ........... No Strawberries?

Grow 4 Food

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I have an issue. My Strawberry patch is going on 4 years old, and I will admit that I am not the best at weed control. BUT, I have several plants there but there is not any berries? I did see blooms but there are not any berries following? I know others in the area are producing right now so what is up with mine? There have not been any strawberry pies, the jam is running low, and the wine is gone !!!:he :barnie :he HELP!

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
Gee, it seems strange that you would have flowers and not berries... I am no expert, but I thought you had to start over every few years with strawberries? I am some of the experts will weigh in. Do you make strawberry wine??? Do tell...

desertcat

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I feel your pain. I, too, have lots of flowers, but no berries. In my case, I think I have critters of some kind that are beating me to them. I'll see a small berry forming and then it's gone. Thinking I need to redo the strawberries in a container of some kind since the ones I grew in pots last year did great.

DawnSuiter

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
3 years and then they become weakened and barely put out any berries if any. I was surprised to learn that plants have a life cycle... I thought they lived forever provided they had all they needed... I was wrong. It was time last year to bring in a new crop, so try and get some started this year so you have a good harvest next year.

This is year 3 for one of my beds and harvests are small. I started a new patch of 25 in a new place. Next year I will bury these old ones here and plant 25 more... wait 2 years and repeat... or something like that. :)

that's my NON expert advice.

Hattie the Hen

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
:frow

Hi grow4food,