Sweat potato question

StonyGarden

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
When to harvest? I planted them in May. It doesn't look like the vine is growing too much but I'm assuming the plant is growing underneath since it is a root crop. This is my first year growing them and I am completely clueless.

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
You dont want a frost to hit them. The tops are very susceptible to frost. When they get hit by frost, the vines die and the rot quickly spreads down to the tubers down below. If it frosts, cut the vines off that morning and dig the potatoes really soon. Thats the big warning about them. Get them before a frost.

Some varieties of sweet potatoes are advertised to require 90 grow days, some varieties need 110, so that varies. But dont go by that. Those numbers are just to compare varieties. How long they actually take depends on your climate. But if you planted them in May, they are not yet ready. Give them at least another month before you start checking on them, and be prepared to wait even longer.

They start setting tubers when they flower. The flowers look a lot like white/purplish morning glory flowers. Thats just when they start setting the tubers. They still need time to grow and mature.

I can never remember where different people are. It would help some if youd modify your profile to include growing zone or general location. Just a general region would help. But sometime after at least three months, you can carefully dig under a plant with your hands and try to find a tuber. If they are big enough for you, you can eat them then, but I think they taste better and keep longer if you let them mature more.

Some people say they wait until the vines start turning yellow. That doesnt work for me, Ill get hit with a frost if I try to wait that long. I also plant them in May and usually harvest very late September to early October. My average first frost date is mid-October.