Trying to raise level + get rid of weeds

ck

Sprout
Reaction score
I am a total beginner gardener. There's a low lying area in our backyard which is hard to get to to mow so has gotten many weeds. I more or less removed the weeds right now (this is fall in New England), and am wondering if I can leave leaf bags over that area to smother weeds. (We have a lot of oak trees so a lot of leaves). I dont want to leave actual leaves as they tend to fly away with the wind. My kinda half brained goal right now is to leave the bags on their side over the winter, but I really dont know what to do after that. The ultimate goal would be to raise the level and plant something useful or pretty there. Also, this area is near a wooden fence, and doesnt get too much sun. Any thoughts on what I should do? Thank you very much.

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
I'll take a shot at this but I'm not quite sure of one thing: are you planning on bringing in soil "to raise the level," ck?

If so, you may want to build a retaining wall and rebuild your fence on top of it.

I think that killing weeds with plastic bags filled with leaves is an excellent idea. You may be surprised, however. Somethings can survive a winter under plastic just fine. I'm thinking that quack grass would laugh at someone trying to kill it that way ;).

Even during the growing season, you may not get a complete kill. Still, if you move the bags out and fill with the area with dirt after 4 or 5 months, the weeds may be so off balance that they can't get started again. If there's very much soil brought in, you may want to put down a 6" layer of leaves (and maybe some newspaper or cardboard) and then cover that with your fill.

You are thinking in the right direction it seems to me, ck. And, I'm glad you joined us here on TEG

Steve :frow

catjac1975

Garden Master
Reaction score