What garden plants WONT ducks eat?

farmerlor

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
Sorry, I'm a newbie to the duck Mommy thing-mine are still in their eggs (but developing nicely!) but I've heard that ducks eat pretty much everything. Grass, herbs, veggies, fruits,....basically nothing is safe. Oh, I did hear you can trust them around blackberries if you have the bushes that have thorns!!!

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I am new to ducks too.... they are quite hungry from what I've seen and go to town on a lot in the pond. They enjoy the little fishes most. Now, we do have cat tail out there they seem to have left alone.

I have a feeling my Lotus will be under attack... but I'm growing them inside, then moving to buckets out on the deck... and eventaully moving to the pond when the leaves get over 12" and are much hardier. I think they will survive fine then.

Smaller plants don't seem to have a chance.

(I did see a corkscrew type plant that looks like it would hardy enough to hold off ducks!)

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Smaller plants don't seem to have a chance.
LOL

Anything green and tender is fair game. :p

That being said, I have quite a few patches of sedum they don't seem to have bothered.

This ground cover near my snap dragons has also been ignored. I will see if I can find a close up. I can't remember what it is called...
1002769ek8.jpg

Ahh! Here we go!
1002516.jpg

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
awwww.... off subject... but those snap dragons look like the one's I ordered and moved out to my garden this year. I love those DEEP reds. I think its my only red plant that has survived!

Good luck on the pond. I'm used to our 2+ acre pond. I sometimes wish the ducks would eat the trumpet vine that has taken over out there... but I have to cut that back and burn it to keep contol!

DrakeMaiden

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score