What should I do with RHUBARB? Any good recipes out there?

big brown horse

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I'm new to Western Washington, we moved here from Houston, TX.

Recently we noticed red celery-lookin stuff growing right up from the grass. "Don't touch it!! Atleast not until we learn what it is!" (We are such Texans, we are used to everything jumping out to bite, sting or poison us!)

Yeah, O.K. now I understand it is just rhubarb. Well, of course I don't want to waste it...:p

Any suggestions?

Thanks so much!

farmerlor

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
big brown horse said:

Recently we noticed red celery-lookin stuff growing right up from the grass. "Don't touch it!! Atleast not until we learn what it is!" (We are such Texans, we are used to everything jumping out to bite, sting or poison us!)

Yeah, O.K. now I understand it is just rhubarb. Well, of course I don't want to waste it...:p

Any suggestions?

Thanks so much!
Rhubarb is BAD, YECH, ICKY POO, GROSS!!!! It actually CAN bite, sting or poison you so just because I want to save you, cause I really like you, I think you should package it up-roots and all and send it farmerlor, middle of nowhere Colorado and I will dispose of it for you.

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
First, make sure it *is* rhubarb, not something else e.g. burdock which can be a fooler but is just an obnoxious weed. (Theoretically the root is edible. I've tried it, several recipes. You'd have to be *real* hungry :p)

Then, remember only the leafstalks are edible, NOT THE LEAVES nor any other part of the plants.

I don't have a chance to dig out and type in recipes right now (google or allrecipes.com should help you out), but my favorite things to do with rhubarb are pie (with or without strawberries added), cobbler, and the ginger-rhubarb jam recipe from Small Batch Preserving.

Have fun,

Pat

big brown horse

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
farmerlor said:
big brown horse said:

Any suggestions?

Thanks so much!