Where to get non Monsanto ONION PLANTS from.

r4eboxer

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I hope I am not putting this in the wrong section. I am a newbie at starting seeds though I am going to try my hand at peppers, tomatoes and a variety of other seeds this year. I know I am going to at least fail with half of those or more. I also know that there is no way I would be successful with onion seeds my first year. So I need a non GMO non Monsanto supplier for plants.

We have a local greenhouse but I figure he buys his seeds from one of Monsanto suppliers. Does anyone know where I can purchase plants from?

I have a really hard time even looking at catalogs from Monsanto owned companies :somad, but sometimes they are good for descriptions and photos of something I want to plant. So I get the info there and then go find a family or employee owned company and purchase what I need. This is something I have just been made aware of and can't bring myself to support those bass turds with my purchases now that I know what I know. :idunno

I am a little torn however because I know I am not going to get all my seeds germinated and hardened off. I will need some plants for backup. I don't want to be in the postion where I go to my local greenhouse and buy plants. I do however have to have a harvest as I can most of what we eat throughout the year.

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
Check out Maine Potato Lady. Not sure if she has seeds, but she has sets.

hoodat

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Monsanto hasn't gotten around to GMoing onions yet. Give them time, they'll get there. It takes a little more hunting to find companies that sell seed that Monsanto hasn't bought out but there are stil some around.

HunkieDorie23

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score