Dill & Cilantro flowering

jhook1997

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
This is my first year doing a lot of herbs and I don't quite know what to do to take care of them. My dill and cilantro are already blooming. Do I pinch off the flowers or leave them be?

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
If your cilantro is already flowering - it is on its way to being coriander. The usefulness of the leaves has pretty well past. Staggering the plantings of seed will probably work for you but you may need to wait until late in the season when the weather cools off. My best cilantro plants are the ones that survive the winter and show up growing nicely in the spring.

Dill has a tendency to not flower all at once. I suppose that you could remove the flowers and force it to produce more flowers at a later time. I'm not sure if that would be best, however.

If you were thinking of using the leaves, once again and like cilantro, that moment is probably past.

For use of the flowers as a flavoring for dill pickles - you may want to cut the dill and dry it. If you do not have cucumbers ready for pickling, the dry dill will be useful for that later in the season. I'm quite sure that it would freeze well, also. For drying, make sure it is out of direct sunlight, tie stems into small bunches and hang them upside down where there's some air movement. Easy.

Steve

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
If you cut the dill flowers off, it will continue to flower for a while. I can keep my dill going for several extra weeks. If I don't cut the flowers off, mine will die. Mine does flower all at once, but my climate is quite a bit warmer than Steve's. Those flower heads are great for making dill pickles.

I just let my cilantro go to seed. I know many people really like it, but it's not my favorite herb. I don't take special care of it like I do dill.

hoodat

Garden Addicted
Reaction score