Earthquakes and your farm/homestead or garden!

Gaz

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Two years ago we were shaken by an earthquake in Maine.....not a big one, but as a geologist I would tell you that Maine is NOT a place that gets a lot of quakes. I was asked by the local school to come the next day and talk about earthquakes and what people can do to be safe.

I thought that it might be good information for everyone to know...and what they can do on their place (or even when they are away in a more 'earthquake' zone).

Here it is: http://www.almostafarmer.com/earthquakes-and-your-farm/

Let me know what you think? Is this useful?

Gaz
www.almostafarmer.com

baymule

Garden Master
Reaction score
I don't have earthquakes, we get hurricanes. The one good thing about hurricanes is we get notice they are coming. If in low areas--RUN! if on high ground--hunker down with plenty of food and water. Best to have cash too.

curly_kate

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I'm in a zone where we get little ones from time to time. There was only one time that I actually felt one - I thought it was a train passing by at first. Apparently, if there's "the big one" on the New Madrid fault, we could end up with real damage. Tornadoes are a more common risk here. We just try to be prepared for disasters in general - food, water, and cash on hand. Oh, and lots of batteries!

Carol Dee

Garden Master
Reaction score
Like @curly_kate we have had a few small tremors. Only remember the one from when I was a teen and the bottles on my vanity danced! Flooding and tornados are a much bigger threat. We are not in a flood plain. (Thank Goodness) But have had some very close misses with tornados. We try to stay prepared. Emergency radio, batteries, etc..

britesea

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score