Help with zucchini husbandry!

GrowinVeggiesInSC

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
So my zucchini is growing and growing and growing... and I was just wondering if it's ok to trim it a little. I don't want it to encroach on the eggplant, which is also growing like a champ. I thought I planted them far enough apart, but at this rate, the zuke is planning to take over the neighborhood, maybe even the world!
How much can I trim it up?
Also, my runner beans are a'runnin' up the fence, do they just keep on going forever? Do these need to be trimmed to prevent out of control growth?
Can you tell it's my first time? :lol:
Thanks so much!

Edited to fix the spelling of "zucchini." I knew it looked wrong! :lol:

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
I pruned back the zucchini when it has begun crowding other plants. I'm sure that it limited the production, somewhat. Sometimes, there isn't always much choice on these sorts of things. I've also built a wall of boards to seperate crowding plants - well, I guess that might be a choice.

My first garden, on my own, was in high school. I planted polebeans and set up a nice, sturdy fence. But, the fence was only about 3 or 4 feet high. But, it worked out. Perhaps because the seeds didn't germinate well or were planted far apart. I'm almost willing to try a short fence like that again. It would cut down on wind resistance.

It worked but my pole beans grew up and down and up and down and sideways :rolleyes:.

Steve

GrowinVeggiesInSC

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Thanks for the info, Steve! I have a feeling my beans are going to do the up and down thing, too! But you are rightm it will provide wind resistance, I hadn't even thought of that! And all without blocking the light (the sun comes in from the other side). Next year, I might have to make a bean tunnel, I've always loved those. It would also provide a good, shady area in which to grow annual shade plants... hmmm... Now I'm thinking!! :clap