New member with lots of questions

frontiergirl53

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Hi, I am a gardener from Arizona (also a chicken raiser, so I'm on BYC), and I have been gardening for 7 years. We recently moved, and I am having lots of trouble with my pots. (My raised beds are doing fine) First I have gotten lots of little yellow aphid-looking things (and they aren't aphids) on my winterbor kale. Does anyone know what those are and how to treat them? Row covers didn't help. They have decimated almost 7 out of the 10 kale plants I planted. Second of all, my other pots have little brown mushrooms and black sprouts that came about almost overnight. They turned my sweet potato seedlings black. I've never had such a bad garden, and I'm thinking it has to do with my new location. Any help is greatly appreciated, as this is the first time I've had them! :barnie

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
:frow Welcome to the forum! :weee Glad you found us! :frow

Why do you think those yellow aphid-looking things are not aphids? Aphids can come in yellow? Photos of something that small can be rough but maybe that would help us. Or contact the Ag or Entomology department at your state land grant college, probably Arizona State, and send them some of the bugs for identification. Your county extension agent may be able to help you with that or you can try contacting them directly.

With the mushrooms and black sprouts it sounds like the pots may be pretty wet. That can led to damping off. Did you use a sterile potting soil?

Smart Red

Garden Master
Reaction score
Hi, I am a gardener from Arizona (also a chicken raiser, so I'm on BYC), and I have been gardening for 7 years.! :barnie
How-dee! @Smart Red here from south-est, central-est Wisconsin welcoming you to The Easy Garden. You will enjoy this site! We have the nicest, most helpful group of gardening friends on the internet.