Questions about Peppermint

Up-the-Creek

Sprout
Reaction score
I should say I "had" a herb garden a few years back and my peppermint of course took over,now I have a rather large peppermint garden. My question is, when do you harvest it for drying? Do you wait till fall, or do it anytime? Do you let it flower or harvest it before flowering? I am fairly new to the herb thing and I am clueless, so any help is appreciated. Thanks! :rainbow-sun

rebbetzin

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I have never had much luck with drying mint. Mine grows all year here. When I want mint I just use it fresh from the garden. I bet if you google "drying mint" you will find some information.

Hattie the Hen

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I find the best mint for drying is Corsican Mint -- it is the smallest of the mint family and is not winter hardy in my garden but worth bringing into the house. I like it planted between paving stones or rocks. I first saw it while on holiday in Corsica, up in the hills, very hot & arid landscape that smelt of wild herbs, thyme, rosemary, fennel & of course this tiny mint. It took me ages to find what was producing the smell. I picked a lot of it & bought it back home to England -- it kept it's smell for years!

I suggest that you freeze your mint not dry it; we used to do that when I had my restaurant. You then overcome the musty taste of the dried stuff.

Hope this helps! Have a good weekend! :happy_flower

:rose Hattie :rose

Sylvie

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I pick peppermint at most any stage except late when it is old, yellowing and way past flowering.

I use one of these methods:
I tie it in bunches and hang dry it in a warm ventilated room.
I dry it spread out in a dehydrator. It will keep a better color with this.
I dry it on a tray in my car in the sun.

I do not wash it first, but just shake dust off. It will mold during drying if damp at all. Also pick when dew has evaporated off.