To Rototil or Not?

OldGuy43

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I'm new to gardening and have a lot to learn. I've found information elsewhere that using a rototiller to much wasn't a good idea. I'd welcome all advice on this.

Thanx,
OldGuy43

Chickie'sMomaInNH

Garden Master
Reaction score
it depends on your situations. i like to till new earth for a few years just to help break up the soil and get out any debris (which i have lots from the previous few owners). tilling helps to aerate the soil, but doing this you could also cause any weeds seed to germinate at the same time as your intended plants. i also like tilling to help get any chicken/rabbit manure mixed into the ground for the season. i usually throw it on at the end of the fall and during the winter when it snows the stuff leeches into the soil as it breaks down and makes it easier to mix into the soil.

not tilling you can limit the amount of weeds that will sprout up. there is a book called 'weedless gardening' or something like that. it basically says to limit the movement of soil to help keep the weeds at bay.

i use a mechanical rototiller since i don't have much of a back or time to be doing it all by hand. some prefer to do it by using garden tools.

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
Rototillers are useful machines but there can be drawbacks to repeat tilling to the same level, especially in some types of soil. Chisel plows were a great invention for field cultivation. I wish we had a similar machine for some of our garden work.

Just looking at tilling at this time of year -- for the light working of the soil surface at the end of the growing season, a rototiller seems really appropriate.

All I was trying to do with my rear-tine tiller here a few weeks ago was to get whatever was on the soil surface, below ground. I ran the tiller in a couple directions but made little effort to really work the soil with the tines.