Yellow crook necked squash recipes?

countrygirl4513

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Anyone got any good recipes? This is my first year growing squash. I'm looking for simple and quick recipes for them.

Tutter

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I imagine this thread will be moved.

Crooknecks are versatile. From stir fries, to fried, like green tomatoes. Use in a lot of the applications you'd use zuchinni in, and cooked in most mixed vegetable dishes. :)

bayouchica

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I have one,but not an exact measurement recipe just a dump & toss kind,lol.

I always use a dutch oven to cook mine in this way. Cook several slices of bacon in the DO
Leave the bacon grease in the DO
take 6 or more sliced squash ( they will cook down)
Lots of onions sliced
add very little water
Salt & pepper
Cook until tender
Crumble up the bacon in the squash,very tastey :p

I learned that from watching my mother,she was from Cajun country, that woman could cook.
Enjoy, Miriam

ams3651

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
my mom has used it half and half with pumpkin for a great pie but I know people who use it on its own

rockytopsis

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Slice lengthwise, splash with olive oil, salt. pepper, granulated garlic and then grill on a hot grill. Maybe put a little paprika on for color. Serve as a side to grilled burbers. Wonderfull. I am checking my squash every day just waiting for them to get large enough. YumYum

Beekissed

Garden Master
Reaction score
How bout slumgullion?

Iron skillet, squash, green tomatoes, red tomatoes, green peppers, sweet banana peppers, hot banana peppers (optional, of course), onions, sweet corn, season to taste. Cook until bubbling, add corn meal for thickener(again, the thickness is personal choice), let simmer about 5 more minutes, turn off heat and serve by itself, over fried or mashed potatoes, over biscuits, over rice or over pasta. This is my most favorite summer dish!

Fried squash: