A total newbie has a question

ninny

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I can't even keep a house plant alive and i really want a veggie garden. So what is my best bet. I have tons of broken bricks to make raised beds. But i not sure if i should. Is it better to just put them in the ground?
I want fruit too. I have to be able to keep chickens and cats out of it. The dogs i can train to stay out of the area. Any tips, ideas?

mandieg4

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Raised beds are great for beginners because you can start with good soil right off the bat instead of building it up over the course of a couple years. The best advice I can give you is start small. A lot of beginners get excited and plant a huge garden, then get discouraged when things don't work out quite like they had planned. Maybe just start with one or two raised beds, then add a new one each year as your confidence grows.

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
There are several different techniques used to grow plants. Which is best for you depends on a tremendous number of different factors. Climate, soil type, what and how much you want to grow, available growing days versus first and last frost, and many more things. And each of us have their own conditions. What works for a neighbor may not work that well for you if, say, you are in a poorly drained low spot and the neighbor is on a higher, better drained area, but what your neighbors grow and what you see in your farmer's markets are a pretty good way to see what grows well in your area.