Amending concrete

Daidohead

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Hello All, I have just purchased a couple of acres just North of Red Bluff California. My property sits right on the Sacramento river. I believe I am in zone 8, It can get as low as 15f in winter and as high as 115f in summer. The soil texture here is beautiful when damp, sloppy when wet, and hard as concrete when dry. I'd like to have a veg garden planted in the spring. My question ; What can I do to keep the soil from setting like cement everytime it gets dry ? I am very new to gardening so please feel free to treat me as such.

Thank you in advance. Mark

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score
:welcome Mark,

I've got red clay here, so dense you could probably use it to make pottery! What I do is add loads and loads of organic matter: compost, leaves, manure, animal bedding, bark from the woodpile, spent hay, grass clippings anything like that. It does take a while to build up your soil's tilth. Faithfully adding organic matter over the years will pay off big time and it usually takes about 2-3 years to see the results. (In the meantime, you could do some raised beds like Beavis mentioned).

Hit up local stables and farmers for manure. Start composting everything from your household--all veggie scraps, coffee grounds, papertowels. Keep an eye out for people tossing leaves to the curb for pickup in the fall. Get some chickens and let them do what they do best... You get the idea. :D

And mulch -- heavily mulch around your garden plants once the ground has warmed up and things are starting to really grow. 3-4" of mulch will stabilize the moisture and texture of the soil around your plants and help to keep it from turning into concrete.

Good luck with your gardening endeavors! Hope this helps!

beavis

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
journey11 said:
:welcome Mark,