any sweet potato experts out there?

thepone

Sprout
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I just received my sweet potato starts from Johnnys, and looking past the fact that they look pretty sad, I'm wondering how long I should keep them on the counter vs. planting them and trying to keep them alive through our last frost date (usually 1st week of June). Also, do I plant them just like any other seedling adding the mound factor? I plan on using black weed tarp in their row and just cutting them in. I have lots of experience with potatoes but not so much with the sweets obviously. Thanks!

Grow 4 Food

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Are they wrapped in anything? I have kept mine wrapped in newpaper and dampened by water for 2-3 weeks with out a problem. You can also put a touch of Miracle Grow in the water but just barely enough to see a change in color. Remember you don't want to drown them just keep them wet.

I am assuming that there is about a 4-6 in "stem" on the plant before you get to leaves? The way that I plant mine ispulling up a mound that is about 14-16 inches high and then smoothing out the top. take a stick that is about a foot long and use it to push the stem into the ground as far as you can (up to the leaves). you need to space them out about every 6-8 inches. Not sure about the paper but I don't see why it wouldn't work. I have also always kept mine trimmed so they are not any wider than the mound is so to keep focus on root growth not leave growth.

Good Luck !

thepone

Sprout
Reaction score
Yes, they came with moss which I'm assuming at some point in the shipping process was wet. I kept the moss with the bunches, wrapped them in cheese-cloth and have them in a tall glass on the counter with just enough water to soak the moss/cc. Do you think that'll be OK? Thanks for the planting tips too!

Grow 4 Food

Garden Ornament
Reaction score