Anyone from So Fl have luck with planting a garden???

Rusty

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Most years I plant tomatoes with really good results. The key is to plant a VERY early spring garden or a VERY late fall one. I spray a lot with insecticidal soap as needed, keep them staked, and I feed with really well-aged manure made into manure tea. My little corner is probably more manure than sand these days, because I've been tilling in aged horse manure every January for about 15 years now.

Rusty

new2gardening

Leafing Out
Reaction score
What months of the years do you normally plant your gardens? What do you plant? We planted ours in towards the end of March and it is way to hot for the plants right now, they are all dying one type at a time. First was the green beans, squash and now the corn. Everything was thriving before it got really hot.

Rusty

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Depending on how the winter is going, sometimes I start in early February. If it is a chilly winter, I skip until the fall garden, which I put in in late August or early September. I normally plant cucumbers, tomatoes and corn. I have a well, so I water regularly (every other day for sure unless it rains that day) and spray as needed.

I always pick THE most disease-resistant varieties in the catalog (Burpee or Parks). Disease kills WAY more stuff than the heat does. And I try for the shortest season stuff--i.e. 2 kinds of tomatoes with equal disease resistance but one is 78 days and the other 90? I always go with the 78-day one.

HTH

new2gardening

Leafing Out
Reaction score