Are my raspberry/blackberry plants dead?

bigbad

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Hi, I'm completely new to gardening.

Recently, I bought 5 berry plants from the internet. They were not in a pot. 4 of the raspberry plants came bundled up in wet newspaper strippings, and the blackberry plant was saran wrapped in some kinda wood shaving.

Overview of what I bought...

- 2 Caroline raspberry plants
- 2 Anne raspberry plants
- 1 Apache blackberry plant

I planted them about two weeks ago.

A few days later, one of the Caroline raspberry plants, started sprouting leaves, so I was pretty excited.

However, one week has passed, since the Caroline sprouted leaves, and none of the other plants show any signs of developing leaves.

The 2 Annes, 1 Caroline, and 1 Apache both look exactly the way they looked from Day 1. They're literally twigs.

I've been watering them every other day, hoping I'll wake up the next morning to some leaves, but alas, nothing. Just the one Caroline plant that's getting bigger.

So from your experience, are my plants dead? At what point should I call the company and ask them for another set of plants?

Thanks, everyone!

journey11

Garden Master
Reaction score
How warm is it where you are? My raspberries and blackberries haven't woke up from winter yet.

At only two weeks, it is possibly still too soon to tell. Most of those catalog nurseries will give you quite a long time to call in for a refund. Double check their policy so you'll know how long you have.

beavis

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Did you plant the canes right away? Very important not to let them dry out before planting.

In what type of growing medium did you plant them?

And it would be helpful to know what growing zone you are in, because as already mentioned, they may still be in a dormant stage. The first leaves you saw may have come from the canes being warmed during shipping.

bigbad

Leafing Out
Reaction score
beavis said: