Artichoke in Zone 5 - Update first post: I have 1 & a Q

trion

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Fedco seeds in ME say that you can grow artichokes here. You have to start them indoors in Jan/Feb. Has anyone ever done this? I am a total newbie and looking for some direction. Even some ideas. Everything I find online is geared towards California where plants can survive all year outdoors. I need to know when I should start them and if I should do anything special with the soil, when I should move them outside and if they need any special care?

Thank you!

July Update:

I started 6 globe artichoke plants in mid February. 3 died in the house. I think we are to blame for those. I got 3 into the ground by June 1st. One did not last through the transplant, we thought, but revived and is a tiny little 3 leaves right now. One grew pretty big and then died. We are not sure what happened. It almost looks like it was stepped on or squished. That might have been an escapee chicken. So here is my one little plant with one artichoke and 2 other artichokes starting:

6243_dsc01332.jpg

6243_dsc01333.jpg

My only concern now is when do I harvest it? I have been looking online for help or photos but have found nothing that really tells me when. Ok they say when but it is confusing and there are no photos. I know what an artichoke should look like in the store - but will this one get as big? What exactly should I be looking for?

tinychicken

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I buy my seeds from Territorial here in Oregon. According to their catalog, start the seeds in Jan/Feb. With soil between 65 and 75 they will take 10 to 20 days to germinate. There is only a 70% germination rate and about 20% of those will not produce high quality plants.