Buried compost vs. piled compost?

Dace

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I have a simple question about composting, as I am new to it and would like some input.

We have a bunny and her littler box contains shredded newspaper, Timothy hay and of course, poo.

For about a week or two I would pull aside some soil and dump the littler box then cover the litter up with soil. Then I decided to just start a normal compost pile.

Well the area that I was burying the litter it seems to have already composted. Is that possible, it was only about 2-3 mos ago.

So my big question is do things compost faster if buried? I am planning some new beds and I wonder if I should start burying the litter in them rather than put it in the compost pile?

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
The speed of composting is from the amount of soil contact (the soil provides ready-to-go microbes and microinvertebrates, all ready to start breaking down your stuff) and from the way it helps hold a consistant and desirable level of moisture.

What you're doing works well for small quantities, but if you ever wanted to do it with a whole big lot o' stuff at once, it would work better to spread it out in a thinnish layer covered by soil than to just dig a deep pit.

If you want to nudge your official compost pile along a bit faster, you can throw shovelsful of soil in as you add stuff, and make sure it's kept moist but not wet. Won't go as fast as small quantities of stuff underground, but it'll go faster than not doing it :)

Have fun,

Pat

aquarose

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
We used to have a bunny, and when my DH would clean out the cage, I would have him put the poopy litter in a new bed (or an old bed, not in current use). Very fertile beds result. Giving them 2-3 months sounds perfect.

Dace

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Thanks for the input... I think I will go at it from two angles.