Chinese cabbage questions

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
This is my first year growing it. It should have headed by now but our weird weather was really cold for a long time and now we are going to hit record highs. So no real hope of it heading, so I cut it back.

Allegedly it can be cut and come again. Is this true??? Anyone try this?

If it's not, no biggie. I am blanching the leaves for cabbage rolls so I still got a good harvest. Just wondering if I should bother trying to keep them going or if I should pull them up and plant something else.

Any advice?

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
No advice or experience with cut and come again, Wife', just a little history.

Sometimes, I can have nice Chinese cabbage growing it in the plastic tunnel. That hasn't happened this time.

That is, it doesn't look like napa cabbage in the soopermarket nor one of those open-headed types you can find in catalog pictures. I've had those too and tried again this year . . .

They have bolted even with the humidity and all in the tunnel. Maybe it just got too cold in there a few nights - must have come very close to freezing a couple of times in May. Maybe it got too warm . . .

Anyway, I figger they wouldn't have stood much of a chance outdoors and they have done nicely in the past. Besides, the flowering stalks are every bit as tender and tasty as bok choy when it tries to get away with bolting ;)! Well now wait a minute, as far as the flowering stalks being cut and coming again - that works fairly well!

Steve

wifezilla

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
It is a darn good thing I went out and cut them all. I found about a dozen little green caterpillars when I was cleaning the leaves. I also found a couple of clutches of white fly eggs. Looks like I got to everything just in time.