Cilantro-Any tips for successful growth?

HotPepperQueen

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I have tried planting cilantro twice, and I cannot every get it to be successful. I live in MN and our summers get hot enough to grow it. It will start out super healthy and nice for about a month, then it starts to die off for no reason. Any suggestions?

HunkieDorie23

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
???? You are growing this in the garden right? When you say it starts dying off what does it look like?

HotPepperQueen

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I tried growing it in a large pot the first time, then in the garden the second time. The plant turns brown and crispy no matter how much water it gets or how little sunlight it gets. I am very puzzled at why this is happening. I am a very experienced herb farmer and my herbs all get blue ribbons at the county fair/state fair every year. No one can seem to figure out why this happens!

HunkieDorie23 said:
???? You are growing this in the garden right? When you say it starts dying off what does it look like?

HunkieDorie23

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Well I was going to guess over fertilizing or something out of wack in your soil, but if you are a experience herb gardener then that probably isn't it. I'll look through my books.

HotPepperQueen

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
That's very nice of you, thanks! Keep me posted :tools

HunkieDorie23 said:
Well I was going to guess over fertilizing or something out of wack in your soil, but if you are a experience herb gardener then that probably isn't it. I'll look through my books.

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
I was thinking that this would be the usual question about cilantro bolting so quickly to seed . . .

Plant problems that aren't easily explained make me think of the soil, also. Was the soil in the pot from the garden?