Confederate Rose

Cassandra

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I bought a house in Oct. 06 and there is a beautiful confederate rose tree (bush?) in a very bad place.

I want to get rid of it! Obviously, I have tried sawing it down twice. LOL

It is right next to the house, so fire is out of the question.

I tried digging the roots up--broke my shovel. (no joke) Besides that, I think the root ball is at least two feet in diameter. It is going to leave a huge hole.

I am not technically opposed to the use of herbicides (natural or otherwise,) but foolishly, after the first time I cut the tree down, I planted some herbs and a pineapple bush in the bed where the tree is. There is also a miniature gardenia and some ornamental grass or something growing there. I'd like to save my herbs if possible.

I really don't hate this tree, but it grows up into the eaves of the house, making a damp spot under there. Plus it attracts these vile little white flies/gnats that swarm around everything. And it is attractive to wasps and bees (not something we want around where we are barbecuing and playing.)

Anything I can do?

Cassandra

Tink

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Well, since you cant kill it. try just keeping it trimmed up. Make some soapy water to spray on for the white flies. They are pretty when they bloom.

I heard that if you pour boiling water on weeds it will kill them. I wonder if you do that to the roots what it would do.
Good luck
Tink

ozark hen

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
try carving/drilling a hole in the thickest stem and pour salt in it. Salt kills weeds so maybe??????????????

jmk3482

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score