Delicata squash and honeydew melons

Holachicka

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
So, My three sisters garden is doing FANTASTIC!! I have lots of delicata, a good amount of honeydew and the butternut is coming along... My problem is I don't know when to harvest!!

My searches have led to so much conflicting information that I'd rather ask if anyone has experience here. With the delicata, I've read to leave it on the vine until first frost, harvest as soon as it changes from light green to cream, harvest when the stem starts to crack... I've also read, it does not store well, and that it stores great. I've also read that you have to cure it as you would any other winter squash, (never done that before either) and that curing it will make it unable to store. FRUSTRATING to say the least!! Anyone have any experience? I was hoping to store it, and to enjoy it at it's peak.

Anyone know when to harvest honeydew melons as well? What about butternut and acorn squash? This is my first time growing these so successfully, and I'm super excited! I will definatley continue to uses the three sisters garden plan each year as it did really well!

Thanks everyone in advance!!

~Sarah

cityfarmer

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I don't know about the others, but acorn squash tends to be one of the last things I bring in. I typically bring them in when it is going to freeze or snow. I have had them tolerate a light frost and be okay. I store them in my basement and have eaten them as late as Feb/March.

lesa

Garden Master
Reaction score
I like to bring the butternut in before a hard frost. A little won't hurt them... I was stressing about cantaloupe last year- low and behold it fell off the vine when it was ripe! Maybe honeydew does the same?

Holachicka

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score