Do you freeze your pies ahead of time?

PunkinPeep

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I'm thinking about Christmas. And i have fresh fruit now. So i'm thinking about making the whole pie - crust and everything - and then freezing it without baking so i can pull it out on the 23rd and bake it.

But i've never done this before. Has anyone else? The one i'm thinking about now will be an apple/pear pie.

I would love some advice.

Thanks! :)

jojo54

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
PunkinPeep said:
I'm thinking about Christmas. And i have fresh fruit now. So i'm thinking about making the whole pie - crust and everything - and then freezing it without baking so i can pull it out on the 23rd and bake it.

But i've never done this before. Has anyone else? The one i'm thinking about now will be an apple/pear pie.

I would love some advice.

Thanks! :)
I used to do it all the time when I made pies when my kids were young. I would freeze them completely ready for the oven. When I baked them frozen, I would bake them longer and about 25 degrees cooler oven. I also would cover the crust edge with tin foil so it wouldn't overbrown. About halfway through I would take off the foil so the edge will brown some. They were great. I would spend one day making piecrust and filling the pies and then we would have fresh pie all winter. I lived in Saskatchewan so did not have the selection of fruit growing that we have here in BC. I would make apple, saskatoon, or rhubarb pies plus I would make what I called a bumble pie that I put all the mixed fruit I had (some of each of the above and maybe even some starwberries, blueberries or raspberries if I had some too.)

BlackThumb

Leafing Out
Reaction score