Fertilizing for newbies

AllyRodrigues

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I want to be able to give my garden everything it needs, but I'm a little overwhelmed by reading about different plants needing different ratios in fertilizers.. Most of my plants are in raised beds, but some are in the ground. This is my first year with a garden that I actually planned and worked at...Is there any fertilizer I can buy that can be used on at least most plants or is that wishful thinking? What's the safest way to do it? I see pellets, sprays, etc.

Right now I have or WILL have:

tomatoes
snap peas
pole beans
brussel sprouts
broccoli
lettuce
garlic
onions
cabbage
squash

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
I think its wishful thinking. I'll stay away from commenting on chemical fertilizers made from hydrocarbons to all kinds of more natural fertilizers other than to say there are a whole lot of options out there and some people feel pretty strongly about some of them.

Each vegetable has its own nutrient requirements as well as pH requirements. Some things do better in an acidic soil, some on an alkaline soil, and some need it fairly neutral. Also, they need differing amounts of the different nutrients. I suggest you get a soils analysis to determine where your soil stands. Probably the best way is to call your county extension agent and see what they say about how to do it. There might be a charge. I have not done it for a couple of years, but when I did it was free. A good soils analysis will tell you the pH of your soil and what nutrients it has. Mine usually gives recommendations of what to add and how much if I tell them which specific crop I am growing.

I divide vegetables into three categories based on nitrogen demand. Things that mostly consist of leaves are usually high nitrogen users. On your list, Brussels sprouts, broccoli, lettuce, garlic, onions and cabbage would fall into this category.