flower beds

blue skys

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I have an "L" shaped flower bed at the front of my house that I want to do something with. I am in zone 8. Is it too late to plant perinnials now or should I wait until fall or does it depend on the plant? I'm not even sure what I want, but hubby wants something tall next to the house and then a cascade of color from there. I'm not sure if I give the right picture but if you are looking at a cross section he wants it to start out tall and get shorter and shorter and shorter. One side (west facing) gets quite a bit of sun the other side (north facing) gets afternoon sun. Any suggestions? Does someone want to just do it for me? (hahaha)

I'm not good at these things, remembering what does good where or the names of plants... I need help!

vfem

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I plant perrenials anytime... I got a ton onsale late summer and early fall last year and filled my beds with as much as I could get for less then $20. I knew I wouldn't be able to truely enjoy the color show from them until this year... but I got some blooms last year and worth the price.

I think now its late spring, go ahead and plant and you'll probably get a better show then I did planting late summer.

I bet you could get some annuals to fill in between those perennials until they fill in next year.... a nice little amount of filler can't hurt. I did it in my back garden until the perennials fill in for them in 2010.

Good luck!

GrowinVeggiesInSC

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I'm in zone 8. I have lantana in my front bed. This is its third year and it just keeps getting bigger. It dies back in the winter and then comes back full force. This picture was taken a month or so ago - it's even bigger now!

My bed gets full sun, but I've had lantanas in shadier areas and the only difference I've noticed is that it blooms a little less. Once this was established, I didn't have to do anything for upkeep. I never water it, ever.