Free carrot seeds, Bakers Creek

MuranoFarms

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
Anyone else get free seeds from bakers Creek? Is this an every order thing? Do they always send the same thing, or does it change?

They are the parisenne carrots http://rareseeds.com/parisienne-carrot.html
I've never done carrots before, but I think I read somewhere that they don't transplant well. true?

Thanks!

SweetMissDaisy

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
I understand that when transplanted, carrots tend to "fork".
Direct sow is best. At least, that's what I understand to be the case. :)

ninnymary

Garden Master
Reaction score
I went to the Baker Creek store in Petaluma and they gave me 2 packages of melon seeds. They were two different kinds. I didn't even buy that much.

Mary

MuranoFarms

Attractive To Bees
Reaction score
I only spent $18....got some really cool hard to find stuff though! It only took a week for the seeds to arrive, but they included a note saying "sorry for the delay" lol I wasn't sure if the free seeds were a thing they did with every order, or just because they thought they took too long (I was perfectly happy with the timing!)

Ok....I'll have to find a space for them and direct sow in May. I think I'm 'over' the flower beds that were here when we moved in. lol they might have to move this year. Maybe the carrots will go there. I hope perennials transplant well.

Rozzie

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
Baker's Creek is great to work with. I go by and shop in their store a couple times a year when I'm through that area. They always toss something in, I think. I'm usually going out with bushes, plants, etc. plus a stack of seeds.

barefootgardener

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score