growing broccoli

Tomatoes&Things

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
This is my first year growing it and I am not real sure about it. I have 100 plants to put in the ground. Do they require a whole lot of water and would it be a good idea to mulch straw around them? Also I was putting them in a area that get sun until till about 2:00. Does this sound OK?

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
100 plants!!??

I probably should just say "yes to all," T&T, but I can't remember using mulch around broccoli. Probably did at least once and because of water needs, it's probably a good idea.

What I found helpful is to pull soil around their roots with an addition of fertilizer after they've made a good start in the garden. That can really give them a growing spurt making for larger plants before they begin to make heads.

Some people plant broccoli in their corn so that there's some shade and they can get a longer season of harvest. What I've noticed is that out in my full-sun garden, life gets a little difficult for the broccoli by late July.

Steve

DrakeMaiden

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
Thanks for the tip about corn, Steve!

I think I read that 20 broccoli plants is sufficient to feed a family of 4(?). If you have more, just make sure you have the space to devote to them in the garden (recommended spacing is about 1.5')

sparks

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Broccoli is pretty easy to grow. Delicious too ! The only down-side is they seem to always get those green worms on them. Even if you don`t see them when you cook it they float to the top. Some people just skim them off. 100 plants seem like alot unless you plan tp freeze...and eat alot!!:dance

DrakeMaiden

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
I'm planting my broccoli next to dill and nasturtiums. Supposedly they help repel those cabbage worms, of which you speak, sparks.

Picking the cabbage worms off and giving them to the chickens is labor intensive, but every little bit helps.

Tomatoes&Things