Hello from Southwest Texas

TReeves

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
My family and I live in El Paso,Tx. Last year we had a small container garden. This year we decided to use most of the backyard for a larger one. I'm looking forward to getting information and tips from other people!

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
:frow Howdy, Hi there!

I'm curious, what kind of containers might this be, taking up "most of the backyard."

I'm not very experienced with season-long container-growing but imagine that it could be a very good choice in an arid environment.

Welcome to TEG!

Steve

ninnymary

Garden Master
Reaction score
Hi TReeves and welcome to this great group of really nice people. I have a few containers that I grow in but they require more work. What did you grow in yours and how big were your containers? Like you I am using more and more of my yard for edibles. When space is at a premium you really need to use it the best you can.

Mary

TReeves

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
:frow Howdy, Hi there!

I'm curious, what kind of containers might this be, taking up "most of the backyard."

I'm not very experienced with season-long container-growing but imagine that it could be a very good choice in an arid environment.

Welcome to TEG!

Steve
Last year we planted a summer and winter garden in tires(cleaned very well and painted a light color) spaced around the yard. The only things we grew in the ground were watermelons and okra. We also had some smaller containers (5 gallon buckets) for some other produce. We've always had to container garden (on balconies mostly because we lived overseas) so, we took it to the extreme last year. Having the tires enabled us to really monitor water levels.