Indoor Planting Tomato's

stano40

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
This is my first time trying to start tomato seeds indoors before planting season.

I'm using a shallow 40 gallon fish tank with an overhead light. Seeds are planted in one of those starter trays you get from walmart or any garden center. Not one of those peat pellet type's you need to soak first before using.

The seeds have started to sprout and seems to growing fine. It's been about 2 weeks and I was wondering if the seedlings that have started should be so spindly looking. Will they thicken out over time?

bob

joz

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Ideally, the light should be within 3" of the seeds as they sprout, and should be raised to juuuust clear the leaves as the seedling grows. The legginess you're experiencing is likely a result of the seedlings reaching for the higher light. They'll continue to reach if you don't lower the light closer to them. Or raise the seedlings closer to the light. Got a couple bricks, or some 2x4 scraps?

Intermittent light breezes (oscillating fan on a timer?) will strengthen the stems up, but don't blow them away! :)

Collector

Garden Master
Reaction score
we started ours indoors this year also, they were looking spindly for awhile but are getting stronger looking every time i see them. we are using a small fan on them for about half of the day for the last couple weeks, they are looking pretty stocky now.

stano40

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
I'll try that. This is what the set up looks like.

002.jpg

Thanks for the suggestion.

bob

stano40

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Picked them up higher to the light at 3", plant tops may be a tad closer.

I do blow at them or brush the tops from an article I read that says it will strengthen them.

I'm using 40 watt bulbs.

How soon do I have to lower them?

003.jpg

004.jpg

bob

bootstrap

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score