Integrating SFG into existing landscape?

nekomi

Leafing Out
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm new here (a transplant from BYC :) ) and this is my first year starting a garden of any kind. I decided to start with a SFG (square foot garden) because it seems like it will be the easiest way for me to start.

I've had seeds started in the sunroom for the past few months, and they are getting ready to go in the ground! But, I still have to finish planning and setting up my SFG.

My biggest problem is that I don't like an "orderly" approach to landscaping; I love it when things look natural, park-like, even "wild". My home is older (1950's), dark cedar siding, on 2 acres nestled within a state park, and we have woodlands all around. To give an idea of what our yard currently looks like, all our existing gardens are edged with small river boulders, surrounded by pines and small trees and lined with ferns.

One half of our yard is our "farm" zone and we keep chickens and horses. Even our fence is rustic-looking, it's a beautiful old weathered split-rail. I want to build the SFG around our current small barn to keep all our farming activities in the same location and easy to manage. :D But, does anyone have any ideas on how I can make a natural-looking SFG garden? Any ideas on stone edging I could use to keep the gardens consistent with the rest of the landscaping?

I'd also like the layout to not seem very "rigid" and flow nicely into the rest of the barn. The gardens will be the first thing visitors see when they come to our homestead, since the barn is right at the end of the driveway, so I'm really hoping to make it look beautiful.

Thanks for any input!!!

nightshade

Garden Ornament
Reaction score
Since you are in a farm/ rustic theme already you can do the old farm thing and build stone hedge row walls. Like those you would see on an only farm dividing the fields. Just make them on smaller scale. That is what we are doing for all our gardens and flower beds.