keeping chickens safe in cold winter weather

Chickie'sMomaInNH

Garden Master
Reaction score
i thought with all the talk of cold weather lately on the boards it might be a good time to go over some stuff to help keep our flocks safe from the cold and blustery days ahead over the next months of late fall/winter/early spring. anyone can add to this list since i know mine won't be all that complete, and after nearly 5 years of chicken owning i'm still learning of better alternatives to keeping them happy during the cold months.

-ventilation while keeping drafts out is a key to keeping chickens from getting frost bite. not enough ventilation will keep moisture trapped in the structure and can cause the exposed flesh to become frost bitten.
-on really cold nights if there is a concern of frost bite i use petroleum jelly on combs and wattles to help insulate those areas from settling moisture. roosters or chicken breeds with over-sized combs and wattles can be prone to frostbite.
-feet can get frostbite if the roost is too small. the wider side of a 2x4 is best for them to roost on. if you have deep shelves this is best since they can cover their feet with their feathers.
-insulation is not needed in a coop since chickens carry their down jackets on them. but it is a nice comfort when you go out to the coop and it is cozy feeling when you have to get out of a storm! :p it also helps keep the eggs from cracking on those really cold nights. (some states might also require insulation in structures housing animals. i know ours does for dog houses now.)
-i keep scratch on hand to help get the birdies warmed up in the mornings. seems this stuff gets them going and is a high energy mix. i add black oil sunflower seeds (BOSS) to the mix of mine for those birds going through molting this time of year. (my Faverolles will start molting in January every year i find :rolleyes: )