Like to Save $786,346?

digitS'

Garden Master
Reaction score
The "tobacco cost per smoker" is $786,346 in South Carolina, the least expensive state in the nation to smoke a pack of cigarettes per day.

In fact, time.com reports on a study that estimates a potential individual savings growing to $1,097,690 with investment in the stock market instead of the tobacco fields. In South Carolina, the least expensive state to smoke in the nation!

Oh, they must be doing those smoke & mirrors things with health care costs, lost productivity, etc. No. Just a lifetime of buying a pack a day.

As if the drain on an individual's resources isn't enough, here is a new story on an Australian study on "The terrifying rate at which smokers die from smoking."

Steve

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score
As an engineer I used numbers all my working life. You can do some amazing things with numbers. What assumptions you use makes a world of difference. How they handle inflation and the time value of money makes a huge difference, actually most of the difference. What was a dollar worth in 1915 versus what you can buy with it today. That is a real difference but how you handle that makes the numbers get out attention.

They did not say what the cost of a pack was in South Carolina but assume $5.00 per pack. This is a really simplified calculation but if you invest this amount spread over 51 years you will come up with a huge number from interest earned and inflation.

365 days per year x 51 years x $5.00 a day = $93,075

$5.00 per day for 51 years @ 2% interest, compounded annually = $157,000

$5.00 per day for 51 years at 2% interest, compounded daily = $160,000

$5.00 per day for 51 years @ 5% interest, compounded annually = $397,000

$5.00 per day for 51 years @ 5% interest, compounded daily = $425,000

$5.00 per day for 51 years @ 8% interest, compounded annually = $1,117,000

$5.00 per day for 51 years @ 8% interest, compounded daily = $1,308,000