Long time not talk--white fly infestation-help!!

miss_thenorth

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I have not been around here in a very long time, but now I come to you seeking help.

I have been battling white flies on my indoor plants for several years now. My 23 year old Hoya is now deceased. My 4 ft tall indoor orange tree is near death, and I have several other indoor plants that have been inflicted. i have treated, I previously thought, successfully; but now they are back again and I don't know what to do. It seems some of my indoor plants are resistant to them.

I have used several sprays in the hopes of getting rid of them. Is there anything else I can do? My mom suggested I be indoor plant free for a while, but considering I have over 30 indoor plants and I use them for decorating purposes ( my house would seem empty without them) ( and I love them).

Has anyone succesfully battled these pests, and what did you use?

Thanks for any tips!

momofdrew

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
go to lowes home depot or walmart and buy the traps for white flies they are yellow sticky things you might find them on burpies Johnny's or Parks on line if the stores in your area dont have them

patandchickens

Deeply Rooted
Reaction score
You've tried the sticky traps, to help keep the populations down? You can also use a vacuum cleaner for the same purpose, just keep after 'em.

Do you kick ALL your houseplants outside in the summer, for as long as possible? That has helped a whole lot for me, although I have to admit that back when I had lotsa houseplants I did resort to putting the worst one or two offenders into the compost pile.

Is it possible that your plants need more humidity, better air circulate, and/or better drainage in their pots? They seem to be worst when plants are not at their healthiest to begin with.