Mother Earth News Garden Planner

AlienChick

Chillin' In The Garden
Reaction score
I am a NEWBIE to gardening and growing my own food.
I first planted a garden last season (after attending an organic garden hand-on seminar at a local farm) and enjoyed it very much.
I planted whatever was given to me at the seminar (tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, romaine lettuce, onions, melons, okra, cilantro, basil, butterfly flowers).

I've been bitten by the bug and now want to plant a larger garden and plan it very well.

I just went through the video tutorials of the garden planner from Mother Earth News and am very impressed!

Anyone else using this particular garden planner?? What are your thoughts and any useful tips to share besides what's on their tutorials?

I'm excited! :watering

NwMtGardener

Garden Addicted
Reaction score
Hi there, welcome to gardening, AlienChick, you're going to love it! I have not used any actual garden planners, but i think some people here do use them, so hopefully you'll get some feedback from them. Mostly, i think the majority of us use "trial and error!!" i have used reference calculators in thepast, that help me figure out, based on my average last frost date, when to start what seeds. I just printed out some info from one at Johnny's selected seeds: www.johnnyseeds.com and look for the link on the side for calculators.

I think the biggest thing thats going to help you is just investing a lot of time learning about YOUR garden by being out there! Watch how the plants are doing every day in response to what you've done - water, fertilizer, whatever! And if you're checking them every day, you can catch diseases and pests early, when you can still do something about them! And have fun! Dont get distraught over failures, we all have them!!

Ridgerunner

Garden Master
Reaction score